Making Friends With Old Indian Men, Or, Delhi By The Pictures

Today I had a very good day. I woke up in my little room at Hotel Namaskar…
IMG_5397 namaskar room

…and walked to the train station to buy tickets. The streets were packed, as usual.

Yup. Plenty of people in India.After I successfully bought train tickets (!!!!!! it only took an hour and a half of waiting in line.  Believe me, this was a very small price to pay.  I consider it a miracle that I was able to buy tickets for all three of the trips I wanted), I went to Old Delhi for some sight-seeing.

First I walked past a beautiful gurdwara, or Sikh temple…

Sikh temple

…and then I went to the Red Fort (Lal Qila), a huge fort/mini walled city built by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan (the same one who later commissioned the Taj Mahal for his wife).

Red Fort

It was hot, but I didn’t think it was too bad, until I saw that the birds were panting.

Maybe birds don't pant? Do they have tongues?

I had my picture taken alone…
Me and red fort

…and then with new friends (a LOT of Indians at tourist sites ask foreigners if they can take a picture with you, so I just asked if they would take one with my camera, too)…

I must have stopped for like a dozen pictures…including some old men who I would have thought would be more likely to call me the White Devil than request a photo.  But I was wrong!  They were very nice and friendly.

Seriously, they were totally niceThen I traveled to south Delhi to see the beautiful Baha’i Lotus Temple.

Lotus Temple ahoy!

I learned a lot about the Baha’i faith.  Their major tenants include “equal rights for men and women” and “we should  improve the condition of life for all humanity” and “there should be universal education.”  I’m not in the market for a new religion, but that sounds like a good set of principles to me.

Then I had dinner at a(n overpriced semi-tourist trap but the food was fairly good) restaurant in Connaught Place, where I made friends with some American college students.

Afterwards, I discovered that there are currently free outdoor concerts happening in the middle of Delhi!

Delhi concert

It’s apparently part of a Culture Week or something to that effect.  An MC came out at the end and handed each of the players in the band a bouquet of flowers.  I cannot explain.  I love this crazy country.

 

 

6 responses to “Making Friends With Old Indian Men, Or, Delhi By The Pictures

  1. Looks like you are having a great time! I knew some Baha’is in college and they were the nicest people 🙂

  2. What a day! Thanks for the pictures–really gives us a sense of place. We have a baha’i temple right here in our neighborhood.

  3. Isn’t that a Hebrew sign on the right in the first street picture?

  4. Yes, Dad, it sure is. There are a TON of Israelis here — I kind of can’t believe I haven’t met any yet. In certain backpacker towns I went to last time, there were more signs in Hebrew than in English or Hindi. Indians can be good at playing to their audience.

  5. Love the pictures!! And loving following along with your adventure. It looks like you’re having a great time, friend. You’re missed!

  6. Nice pictures. How was your experience at hotel Namashkar. Was it safe. I am planning to stay there for couple of days.

Leave a Reply

