Further Down the Rabbit Hole

 

IMG_5752

Here I am.  And here I go.  Tomorrow I go to McCluskieganj, a village 2.5 hours from the big city.   There is internet there, but power goes out often.  Rajesh said the last power outage lasted 15-20 days.

Even here in Ranchi, the state capital, English speakers are far and few between.  I am the only white person I’ve seen in days.  I’ll have a translator most of the time for the next few weeks, but boy, is my Hindi going to get better.

Tonight, I drink beer and watch American TV in my posh hotel, in my AC room.  Living it up in my last few hours before 6 weeks in the village!

I have that feeling again.  The feeling of looking down into the rabbit hole.  Only this time, I really have no idea what’s on the other side.

2 responses to “Further Down the Rabbit Hole

  1. 15-20 days? Oh dear. GOOD LUCK!!! (And watch out for the cobras.)
    xoxox

  2. COBRAS?! Well, immersion is the best way to learn a language. Can’t wait to hear what you find down the rabbit hole. xx

Leave a Reply

