Bodhgaya: the Temples

Because this is the holiest site in all of Buddhism, every country with a Buddhist population has built some kind of temple or monastery here.  They’re quite beautiful and mostly fill me with the desire to just spend months traveling around Asia to see all these other countries too.IMG_5993 thai temple outside small

The Thai temple was my absolute favorite, hands down. Outside above, inside below.  My photos don’t capture the outstanding murals on the inside depicting some Buddhist stories set in Thailand.  Just beautiful.IMG_5995 thai temple inside small

The Japanese temple was my second favorite.  Simple but peaceful: long and open on the inside with cranes and kanji splashed across the ceiling tiles.  I watched a few Indians light and wave incense, then sat alone in the quiet for a while.IMG_6001 japanese temple 2 IMG_6000 japanese temple

IMG_6006 tibetan monastery

I’m sorry to say I forget which temple this was.  90% sure it’s one of the Tibetan monasteries (of which there are several).

IMG_6002 giant buddhaThere is also a giant 80-foot Buddha statue in Bodhgaya, because of course.IMG_6005 giant buddha and i

3 responses to “Bodhgaya: the Temples

  1. Great photos. Impressive statue. Like your new shirt and that you look happy 🙂 Yay!

  2. Agreed w Coll–impressive statue. Impressive, too, that you don’t look like you are even sweating…

    • Oh I ASSURE you I am sweating. In fact, the Buddha statue was one of the place where I nearly scalded the bottom of my feet off — you need to take your shoes off before approaching the statue. The statue is mostly surrounded by white stones. I was there around 11 am in June. I should have put the sweat from the rest of my body on my poor sad feet.

Leave a Reply

